Unconditional Surrender

Part Three of the «Sword and Honour» Trilogy by Evelyn Waugh

Unconditional Surrender, Evelyn Waugh.

Guy Crouchback has lost his Halberdier idealism. A desk job in London gives him the chance of reconciliation with his former wife. Then, in Yugoslavia, as a liaison officer with the Partisans, he finally becomes aware of the futility of a war he once saw in terms of honour.

’Waugh’s characters have inexorably established themselves among the enduring fiction ... In this respect Waugh is in direct line with Shakespeare and Dickens’ – Clive James in The New York Review of Books.


  • Title: Sword and Honour
    1. Men At Arms (1952)
    2. Officers and Gentlemen (1955)
    3. Unconditional Surrender (1961)
  • Period: World War Two, 1939–1945
  • Type: historic novel
  • Author: Evelyn Waugh
  • Format: 240-page paperback
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Penguin Books, Harmondsworth, England
  • ISBN: 0-141-18687-9
  • Published: 1961

The author, Evelyn Waugh, was a staff officer of Layforce, at the rank of brigade-major. Layforce, the Commando brigade of Colonel Robert Edward Laycock, consisted of three British Special Service Battalions, and one battalion from № 50 and 52 (Middle East) Commando. Waugh’s historical novels are strongly autobiographical, they show the futility and absurdities of war from a warriors perspective.

Return to the Archives