Reichsarmee Electoral Rhenish Circle

Imperial Army of the Seven Years’ War, 1757–1763


The Electoral Rhenish District (Kurrheinischer Kreis) consisted of the territories of four electoral principalities: the Electoral Palatinate, Archbishopric of Mainz, Archbishopric of Trier, and Archbishopric of Cologne, as well as the Bailiwick of Koblenz, Principality of Arenberg, Burgraviate of Rheineck, County of Lower Isenburg, and Lordship of Beilstein. The Count of Thurn and Taxis was represented at district meetings, despite the fact that he owned no territory inside the Electoral Rhenish District.

It was the duty of the imperial district to maintain the public peace, collect imperial taxes, and to supply a contingent of troops for the Imperial Army in times of war.

Kurrheinischer Kreis

The 2nd and 3rd squadron of Reiter-Regiment Zweibrücken, and the Oberrheinische Kreis-Eskadron were combined to form Kürassier-Regiment Kurpfalz for the duration of the Seven Years’ War.

Seven Years’ War Miniatures